National Leadership Team


What is TDC?


National Office Team


National Leadership Team


Partners, Friends, and Allies

National Leadership Team

The Inaugural National Leadership Team of The Democracy Commitment
Members of TDC National Leadership Team are Administrators, Faculty, and Staff from our member institutions, and national partners committed to the mission and goals of TDC as well as its success.The National Leadership Team of The Democracy is composed of two bodies: National Advisory Board and the
Campus Coordinator Advisory Council.

The National Leadership Team works closely with the National Office to ensure that every student of our member institutions receive an education in civic responsibility and democracy.


    Board of Directors

    TDC's Inaugural Board of Directors
    The Board of Directors is TDC's decision-making body with the primary function of taking responsibility for the feasibility, business, and the achievement of outcomes of TDC. The Board of Directors regularly monitors and reviews the organization’s status as well as provide oversight and directors. They are selected representatives of TDC's member institution.
    Dr. William Coppola
    President Tarrant County College, Southeast Campus Texas
    Fagan R. Forhan
    Assistant Dean, K-12 Partnerships & Civic Engagement Mount Wachusett Community College Massachusetts
    Dr. Eddie Genna
    Professor of Philosophy and Political Science Phoenix College Arizona
    Dr. Kurt Hoffman
    Senior Vice President of Instructional and Student Affairs Allegany College of Maryland Maryland
    Lavita McMath Turner
    Director of Government and External Relations CUNY Stella and Charles Guttman Community College New York
    Dr. Brian Murphy
    Co-founder and Señor Advisor
    President De Anza College California
    Verdis Robinson
    Historian (Ex-offico)
    National Director The Democracy Commitment Washington, DC
    Dr. John J. Theis
    Chair of the Board
    Professor of Political Science Lone Star College- Kingwood Texas

    National Advisory Board

    The National Advisory Board is primarily responsible for leading, advocating, and coordinating national efforts to realize the goals and objectives of the initiative.  With the Board of Directors, the National Advisory Board provides a stabilizing influence so that organizational strategies and directions are established and maintained with a visionary view.

    Dr. Mary Frances Archey

    Executive Director for Strategic College Initiatives
    Community College of Allegheny County, PA

    Amber Austin

    Student, CLDE17 Intern
    Tarrant County College, Southeast Campus, TX

    Robert M. Brandon

    President and Co-Founder
    Fair Elections Legal Network (FELN)  Washington, DC

    Tamarra Coleman-Hill

    Assistant Professor, English
    Moorpark College, CA

    Zaneeta Daver

    Director, ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge
    Washington, DC

    Dr. Reza Fakhari

    Vice President for Continuing Education, Workforce Development, and Strategic Community Partnerships & Professor of Politics
    CUNY Kingsborough Community College, NY

    Dr. Robert Franco

    Director, Institutional Effectiveness
    Professor, Pacific Anthropology
    Kapiʻolani Kula Nui Kaiāulu
    Kapi’olani Community College, U. Hawai’i

    Dr. Carrie B. Kisker

    Director, Center for the Study of Community Colleges
    Los Angeles, CA

    Dr. Kimberley Klein

    Assistant Professor, Political Science
    Delta College, MI

    Dr. Caryn McTighe Musil

    Senior Scholar and Director of Civic Learning and Democracy Initiatives
    Association of American Colleges and Universities
    Washington, DC

    Ken Rolling

    Executive Director, Community Learning Partnerships
    Chicago, IL

    Brett Rowlett

    Director of Public Affairs and Interim Director of Marketing and Creative Services
    Lane Community College, OR

    Director, Center for Civic Participation
    Maricopa Community Colleges

    Lisa Strahley

    Chair of Teacher Education/Early Childhood Education & Civic Engagement Coordinator
    SUNY Broome Community College, NY

    Dr. Jolanda M. Westerhof

    Associate Vice President, Academic Leadership and Change, American Association of State Colleges and Universities
    Washington, DC


    Campus Coordinator Advisory Council

    The purpose of the Campus Coordinator Advisory Council is to assist TDC’s progress by offering informal strategic advice and feedback voicing ideas, opinions, and concerns to the national office in regards to programs, initiatives, events, and strategies to realize TDC’s mission.  In additional to serves as the Campus Coordinator for their colleges, members of this council serve as regional liaisons for member institutions representing them on the council.

    Northeast Region

    Shelley Errington Nicholson

    Director, Senator Stephen M. Bower Center for Civic Learning and Community Engagement
    Mount Wachusett Community College, MA

    Dr. Aaron Hoffman

    Professor of History
    Community College of Allegheny County, PA

    Dr. Diane McMahon

    Service Learning and Civic Engagement Faculty Director, Associate Professor of Sociology
    Allegany College of Maryland, MD

    Helen Margaret Nasser

    Associate Director of Honors Program
    CUNY Kingsborough Community College, NY

    Dr. Joseph Scanlon

    Instructor of Political Science
    Monroe Community College, NY

    Southeast Region

    Mary Elizabeth Tyler Boucebci

    Community-Based Learning Coordinator
    GSU’s Perimeter College, GA

    Dr. Robert Brandon

    Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Cleveland State Community College, TN

    Dr. Connie Jorgensen

    Assistant Professor of Political Science
    Piedmont Virginia Community College, VA

    Dr. David Price

    Professor of History and Political Science
    Santa Fe College, FL


    Josh Young

    College-Wide Director, Institute for Civic Engagement and Democracy
    Miami Dade College, FL

    TDC’s Co-Founder, Senior Advisor, and Board of Director Member, Dr. Brian Murphy, addressing attendees of TDC Organizing Meeting at the 2017 Civic Learning and Democratic Engagement Meeting.  Baltimore, June 2017.

    Central/Midwest Region

    David Bodary

    Professor of Communication
    Sinclair Community College, OH

    Aurora Zwick

    Manager, English Language Learner Center
    Moraine Valley Community College, IL

    Southwest Region

    Cynthia Franklin

    TDC Campus Coordinator, Northwest Vista College
    Alamo Colleges, TX

    Duane Oakes

    Faculty Director, Center for Community and Civic Engagement
    Mesa Community College, AZ

    Michele Richey

    Professor of Sociology
    Lonestar College- Montgomery, TX

    Sharon Wettengel

    Assistant Professor of Sociology
    Tarrant County College- Southeast Campus, TX

    Pacific/Northwest Region

    Cynthia Kaufman

    Director, Vasconcellos Institute for Democracy in Action and Faculty in Philosophy
    DeAnza College, CA

    Dr. Patty Robinson

    Faculty Director, Civic and Community Engagement Initiatives
    College of the Canyons, CA