April 5, 2013

About Us


The Democracy Commitment (TDC) is a national initiative providing a platform for the development and expansion of community college programs, projects, and curricula aimed at engaging students in civic learning and democratic engagement.  The goal of TDC is that every student of an American community college graduates with an education in democracy. This includes ALL of our students whether they aim to transfer to university, achieve an associate degree, or obtain a certificate.

Our Declaration states our dedication to the cause of democracy in higher education, and to make democratic skills available to all individuals who desire a voice and a seat at the table of local, state, and national discourse and action.


TDC is celebrating its 5th Anniversary as it was launched on November 11, 2011, at The New York Times headquarters in New York City.  Presidents and chancellors from 50 community colleges and districts nationwide were early signatories, and we have nearly doubled our network of committed member institutions progressing to realize our goal. The Democracy Commitment is modeled after the American Democracy Project, a national coalition of public state colleges and universities committed to civic and democratic work, sponsored by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU.)

TDC is headquartered in Washington, D.C., at the offices of AASCU where this partnership enriches both 2-year colleges and 4-year colleges and universities in their efforts to enhance civic engagement on campus and in student life by creating complementary projects and goals.  Together we are striving to close the gap between the democracy we have and the democracy we seek.


TDC Leadership and National Committees

National Leadership Team

Executive Committee

Presidents Council- coming soon!

National Steering Committee


Partners and Friends

TDC is committed to helping our members ensure that every graduate of an American community college receives an education in democracy. To this end, TDC relies on a select group of partners to provide updates, guidance and thought leadership on an array of issues impacting civic engagement and democratic leadership in higher education.  Visit HERE to view our list of partners and friends.


Join TDC!

To join The Democracy Commitment contact the National Manager who will provide you with an application and the process of becoming of member of the TDC family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *