The Democracy Commitment is honored to announce our newest community college member, Tarrant County College District.

Tarrant County College was established by a countywide election on July 31, 1965, as Tarrant County Junior College, the name change coming in 1999. The South Campus opened in 1967, followed by Northeast (1968), Northwest (1976), Southeast (1996) and Trinity River Campus (2009). The Trinity River East Campus for Health Care Professions opened in downtown Fort Worth, just blocks away from the Trinity River Campus, in the fall of 2011. The College District is governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees elected for staggered six-year terms in single member districts.

Enrollment growth has been steady throughout recent years. The South Campus, at 4,772, had the largest opening-day enrollment of any community college in the nation up to that time. Overall credit student enrollment passed the 20,000 mark in 1980 and exceeded 50,000 in the fall of 2011. As of 2012, TCC is the sixth-largest college or university in Texas.

Tarrant County College is committed to  creating an enriching environment where students become active citizens involved in their communities by providing opportunities and resources to engage in service oriented community activities.

Under the leadership of Chancellor Erma Johnson Hadley, five exceptional campus presidents will be working toward democratic engagement on all the Tarrant County College campuses.

Welcome, Tarrant County College!